importance of visual basic 6 for electronics engineers

nikhilthunderlion

Joined Oct 1, 2007
i am an undergrauate student of ECE.i want to know the importance of learning VB6. will VB6 help me later in my life,or is there any other programming language that i should learn...

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
The answer depends on your objectives and needs.

If you're going to do programming, you should learn a number of languages. Actually, languages are pretty easy to pick up after you've learned a few of them. (Mastering them is another story.)

I find C/C++ and python are the only languages I use on a regular basis, although I've tried and used many more. For an EE who might work in an embedded space, I would suggest learning C. You'll also probably have the ability to work with specialized tools such as Verilog, Labview, Maple/Mathematica, etc., and these can also teach aspects of programming. Pascal is an excellent teaching language but has fallen out of use (Delphi notwithstanding).

More important than learning a language or two is learning something about software engineering.