Importance of isolation Transformers

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by automagp68, Mar 25, 2012.

1. automagp68

Thread Starter Member

Nov 13, 2011
    So i am fairly new to the tube world and i have been slowly learning tube amplifiers.

I have heard from several people that using a variac for test amps is not a good idea because it is not isolated.

I should use an isolated power supply.

I was just an an electronics show and picked up one of these

I do not think it is isolated however. I only paid $20 for it so no real loss i guess.

Can someone shed some further light on this.
    Why is it good to test with isolation transformers? Do i really need one?

Should i not use this thing?

If i need an isolation transformer then what good is a variac?

All i really wish to do is upon start up for the first time of an unknown tube amp or a freshly made home brew i want to be able to slowly turn it up. and check things out before we get to full wall ac voltage. As opposed to just plugging it in the wall and hoping the circuit is ok.

Any ideas?
    Thanks

2. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    The problem with conventional AC is it is connected to the ground you stand. It is possible to get a lethal shock by grabbing one wire.

A variac does what the name suggests, it varies the voltage of the AC. It doesn't isolate however.

If you have a situation where the power company is giving you low (or much more rarely, high) AC voltage a variac can be handy.

3. automagp68

Thread Starter Member

Nov 13, 2011
    Hi

Ok so i was just doing some more research.

A transformer used for a variac does not have a primary and secondary winding as we traditional think of it.

It is just one winding tapped off in the middle. Hence it is not isolated.

Where does the rheostat come in?

IS the rheostat traditional pre or post transformer?

I was looking at the schematic but it does not do a good job of showing it.