Impedance - RC Circuits (Beginner)

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by bogart_sci, May 2, 2013.

1. bogart_sci

Thread Starter New Member

May 2, 2013
    Hello, I am fairly new to electronics and am currently studying a BTEC in the subject. Was wondering if anyone can help with my confusion over Impedance in RC / RL circuits?
    I am wondering when I should be using complex numbers when calculating impedance. For example, if asked to find the impedance in an RC circuit should I express the answer in terms of Z = R + jX? eg: 2 - j0.001. Or should I treat the Reactance as a regular number? eg: Z = 2 - 0.001 = 1.999. In some of the practice questions the number for X seems an insignificant amount and I end up rounding back up to the value of R.
    For example, given the following values...

C = 200uF
    R = 2M Ω
    f = 50Hz

From this I work out Xc = 1 / (2*pi*f*C) = 15.915

Then I have used Z = √(R2 + Xc2) where the 2s mean squared.
    This gives me a massive 4 billion for R2 and 253.287 for Xc2. Add them together and take the square root yeilds an answer not too far from the value of R in the first place.

I am not sure if I should be expressing Xc as -j15.915 and thus...

Z = 2000000 - j15.915

Is there a right way to express this or is either way acceptable? I have some questions like this in a test paper I have to do so obviously want to present the correct way.

Hope someone can help.

Cheers,

2. Six_Shooter

Nov 10, 2012
    Impedance is expressed in ohms, so in the end, the value you end up with after going through the formula, and then rounding to the number of significant digits you use is fine, usually then referred to as impedance, even if the complex value (X) is small.