Impedance Plethysmograph

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by as4, Jul 17, 2012.

1. as4

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 16, 2012
    Hello Everyone,

I am new to the forum and in need of great help from you people. I am not good at electronics but I have no way of escaping this project as it is my final year project.

I need to build an impedance plethysmograph (IPG) which is a device that measures the tissue impedance. The current is applied to a portion of the limb with the help two electrodes, called drive electrodes, and the voltage across another pair of electrodes, called receiver electrodes, is measured. My idea of making the instrument is to use

1. Constant current source (sine wave generator with variable frequency (range 10kHz to 1000kHz) and current amplitude 1mA to 5 mA).
    2. connect the output of the generator with the the drive electrodes, through a relay because I am making use of 2 sets of electrodes with four electrodes in each set, which is called tetra-polar arrangement. The relay will be controlled, to switch between the drive electrodes of two sets, with the help of 8051 micro controller.
    3. connect the output of the receiver electrodes to the input of the data acquisition system (DAQ system). The DAQ further has other components, amplifier, rectifier, switching circuit, etc, to connect its (DAQ's) output to the PC.

I don't have much knowledge about the circuits so I want the circuit for each part like for sine wave generator, placing a relay between the generator and the drive electrodes, type of electrodes to be used, type of amplifier to be used and its circuit, type of rectifier to be used and the circuit, DAQ specifications...

I know I have exceeded my limits in asking for help in this thread but I had no option. Electronics is not my field of interest but I am stuck in it, and this is the last project and a must. So please please please help me with it.

2. mcasale

Jul 18, 2011