impedance of amplifier

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by bhuvanesh, Mar 17, 2015.

1. bhuvanesh

Thread Starter Member

Aug 10, 2013
    i am studying bjt amplifiers,i am often getting through impedance of input and outputs . Its messing up with me
    example:common collector configuration have high input impedance and low output impedance
    does that input impedance is impedance between the terminal( base and collector)?
    it is also said as impedance matching circuit.why common base and common emitter are not being said impedance matching circuits.Thank you in advance

2. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    In the context of amplifiers the word "common' refers to the terminal that is common to the input of the amplifier and the output of the amplifier.
    Common Emitter --> the emitter is common to the input circuit and the output circuit. The base is the other input terminal and the collector is the other output terminal.
    Common Collector --> the collector is common to the input circuit and the output circuit. The base is the other input terminal and the emitter is the other output terminal.
    Common Base --> the base is common to the input circuit and the output circuit. The emitter is the other input terminal and the collector is the other output terminal.
    Is that clear?

3. bhuvanesh

Thread Starter Member

Aug 10, 2013
    now my doubt is about the impedance sir, does common collector have high input impedance and low output impedance mean that collector base terminal have high input impedance and collector emitter terminal have low input impedance respectively ?
    Thank you

4. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    Yes, that is what it means.

5. bhuvanesh

Thread Starter Member

Aug 10, 2013
    okay then ,why this configuration(common collector ) is called as impedance matching configuration?

6. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006