Impedance matching questions?

electronice123

Joined Oct 10, 2008
I have a question on impedance matching.

If I use a transformer as the source then the secondary coil's XL and it's resistance is the source impedance-correct?

If the load is a parallel RC circuit what would be the best way to obtain an impedance match between the source and the load?

Could I insert an inductor between the source and load to match the impedance?

Last edited:

electronice123

Joined Oct 10, 2008

Here's the circuit.
From my calculations at 5kHz the 100mH inductor (source inductance) will have 3.14kΩ of impedance, while the RC load has an impedance of .226Ω. If I used an inductor between the two as an impedance matching device I calculated it would require an impedance of Zl=√3140 x .226 = 26.6Ω. At 5kHz this would require the inductor to be 850μH.

This is my first time dealing with impedance matching so I'm sure I am not considering everything.

DC_Kid

Joined Feb 25, 2008
i suspect the source will have its own CLR, then you are adding in your own RC, etc.

do you know what the Z is of the source @5kHz? you mentioned transformer.

PRS

Joined Aug 24, 2008
I have a question on impedance matching.

If I use a transformer as the source then the secondary coil's XL and it's resistance is the source impedance-correct?

If the load is a parallel RC circuit what would be the best way to obtain an impedance match between the source and the load?

Could I insert an inductor between the source and load to match the impedance?