Impedance Function

cramerica

Joined Mar 15, 2011
Hello all.

I am a lowly mechanical engineer, studying for an equivalence exam through my employer (a regulated utility operator), to allow me to bid positions on the electric side of the house. I am currently a gas engineer.

I already failed my first attempt at the test, due in no small part to questions like this:

"Given an impedance function [Z=60<pi/3], determine the values of the parallel elements".

Now, I have no problem with vector math, or calculating total impedance from given values of R, C and L. But I think even a mechanical engineer can see that this problem is indeterminant. Am I right? Even if I assume a voltage, say 100V<0, I still have too many unknowns.

Isn't there an infinite number of possible combinations to result in any arbitrary total Z?

I apologize if this question seems beyond basic - but I've been wracking my brain trying to see a solution! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
I'm not an EE, but I did take a networks class back in the 60's. I hope my info isn't out of date... :p

If one assumes that the impedance is 60 ohms with an angle of 60 degrees and they're asking for the parallel components, then I'd assume this is an inductor in parallel with a resistor. Should be straightforward to resolve into the real and reactive components...

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
I'm not an EE, but I did take a networks class back in the 60's. I hope my info isn't out of date... :p

If one assumes that the impedance is 60 ohms with an angle of 60 degrees and they're asking for the parallel components, then I'd assume this is an inductor in parallel with a resistor. Should be straightforward to resolve into the real and reactive components...
It would be handy to know the frequency...

cramerica

Joined Mar 15, 2011