Illuminated periodic table - multiplexer

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by jhelliar, Mar 21, 2009.

1. jhelliar

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 21, 2009
    I am trying to create a periodic table wall chart 8' by 4' which has an LED inserted into each element. I would like like to be able to wire this to a control panel and be able to push buttons to light up different LEDS or groups of LEDS. Someone has suggested I should do this using/via a multiplexer. IS this a sensible idea and how would I go about doing it? I have never used one before. What would I need to buy?

Many thanks in advance for any help received.

Jack

2. t_n_k

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 6, 2009
    How close is April 1st?

3. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    It's a reasonable project. What is necessary are the details - what groupings of elements are to be illuminated. Give a lot of thought to the control panel for all this, too.

4. jhelliar

Mar 21, 2009
    Do you think a multiplexer is a sensible ideas or just use a set of push to make switches?

Many thanks Jack

5. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    I can't tell yet - it will depend on the way you wish to arrange the way the various LED's illuminate on the periodic table.

The periodic table is not easy to lay out in an organized fashion. There are the vertical columns of each Group, there are the metals, semimetals, and nonmetals. The lanthanide and actinide elements get organized into groupings external to the main table.

The way you wish to be able to light up the LED's is going to be crucial to the project. Can you state what groupings should be controlled in addition to individual elements? Do you wish different colors of LED's?

6. jhelliar

Mar 21, 2009
    To make it simpler i think i will leave out the lathanides and actanides. The groupings I would like would are:

Group 1
    Group 2
    Group 3
    Group 4
    Group 5
    Group 6
    Group 7
    Group 8/0
    A period

If possible:
    Metals