igbt gate drive issue

jbest

Joined Nov 18, 2008
Hello i am building an igbt gate drive and i cant seem to get it to work i am using parts that were recommended by some one else as i have no real electronics knowledge to speak of

I am using a 7406 hex inverter ,acnw3130 opto igbt gate drive and igbt g4bc20f

I have attached the pdf for both of them. In the ancw3130 pdf circuit number 29 is the exact circuit i have built except pin 6 of the opto isnt connected and i am running a 2 amp 15 volt supply to it

Any help would be most appreciated thanks james

Attachments

jbest

Joined Nov 18, 2008
i bypassed the opto and touched the gate directly to the power supply for the opto and the igbt wouldnt turn on i believe the igbt needs more than the power supply and opto can deliver but i dont know how to read the data sheet correctly to confirm this the igbt

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
If the IGBT gate is more than 10 volts above the source and it's not conducting, it's because the device has failed. The turn on and off rates are dependent on the rate your driver can move charge, but no power is involved with turning the device on and off.

Gate voltage 0 with respect to the source - no conduction. Gate 10 volts above the source - full conduction. Make sure you have correctly identified the gate, source, and drain pins.

jbest

Joined Nov 18, 2008
i am using the right pins 1 gate 2 collector 3 emitter

so if i am putting 40 volts into the source pin the i would have to trip the gate with 50 volts

if so i am only putting the 15 volts from the isolated circuit into the igbt and it will never work

do you know where i can find a schematic of circuit with part numbers i can copy

i am wanting to chop up a half wave dc just like a pulse converter dose
i have a 555 square wave circuit up to the 7406 done but the opto isolater and igbt portion is a problem for me and if what i am interpeting from your last post is correct than this is wrong design for me

beenthere