IEBus differential signal to TTL circuitry

nslogan

Joined Oct 17, 2012
Hey! First post! Also let me preface this by saying that I'm a huge electronics noob and also a mechanical engineer (compsci minor, like to mess around in electrical engineering when I can).

I'm currently working on a project that receives a differential signal (via Bus+/Bus-) and I need to convert that to TTL (0V = 0, 5V = 1) so that I can read it with my USBee SX (and ultimately with some 8-bit AVR) to determine packet structure. That last part is irrelevant to my question but I thought I'd give a general project goal.

What I'm currently working on is the circuitry to convert the differential signal to TTL. The input signal is defined that a difference of less than 20mV = 1 and a difference of greater than 120mV = 0. I have confirmed these voltages with my oscilloscope. Also, the maximum time between transitions is 40us and the minimum is 7us.

What I've done so far is to use a LM324 to subtract the signals and amplify the output by 10. On average, the voltage difference between high and low has been around 200mV so my output from the op-amp has been right around 2V which makes sense. However, while the output signal is nice and pretty (see this album), the slew time on the LM324 is too low and thus my rise/fall times are way to long. On the 7us transition I end up with the falling/rising edges of signals running in to each other.

So, I need to find a better op-amp, I'll talk about that in a second. The next step after this (at least in my mind) is to use a comparator circuit with known hysteresis to convert the ~0V low and ~2V high in to 0V and 5V logic. Does this sound like a good plan?