Ideas for projects with microcontrollers?

jean28

Joined Sep 5, 2012
Hey there guys. I'm an undergraduate student in computer engineering, and I'm seriously thinking about taking the most difficult course at my college, which involves doing a semester-long project that involves a microcontroller/microprocessor.

There are plenty of ideas that come to mind, but there is one problem: The professor requires us to make a project that fills a need in society. For example, a few semesters ago some students made a project that helped markets work with the taxes they were charging, and another group made a project that helped people with slight dystrophy stand up easier.

I have seen various websites that give decent ideas, but none of those ideas really appeal to me because i'm more inclined to computer projects while most of the projects I see are related to electrical engineering.

Something like say, robots, seems appealing to me.

Could anyone give me any ideas?

aws505

Joined Mar 11, 2013
When I was an undergraduate, some folks I knew did a project to control a robotic arm and with servo motors controlled by an Arduino (or you could use any other microcontroller). They strapped the whole things to an RC car (that they also rigged up to the microcontroller) and called it a "portable bomb defuser." The idea was that you could send in this rink-a-dink tool to cut wires on a dangerous bomb instead of risking a person. With a camera and a wifi connection, it seemed like a noble idea.

jean28

Joined Sep 5, 2012