I2C Addressing

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by LewisMF, Jun 22, 2015.

1. LewisMF

Thread Starter Member

Nov 15, 2014
    Hi Everyone!

I am planning on building a system with 1 master PIC18F45K22 and 6 slaves PIC16F1704.

My question is, how do I determine the addresses for the slaves? I have checked the datasheet of the PIC16F1704 under the I2C slave mode operation and cant seem to find what address it has (7-bits addressing) or how to give it an address, can I give it any address I want within the range 1 - 128?, I am a bit confused.

Is it possible to address the device by hardware, maybe with DIP switches? Is it possible to make the master scan the bus on start-up and give the slaves addresses?

It is my first time with I2C so go easy on me :)

2. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    I do not know the answer for sure. Look for a register in the I2C peripheral that allows you to set or configure the address. I'll download the datasheet to see if I can find it.

EDIT: That wasn't too hard; look at figure 28-3 on page 270. There you will find the "Mask and Match" hardware for address recognition. Read the datasheet carefully with respect to registers "SSPMSK" and "SSPADD". You have full control in firmware, no DIP switches or pre-configured addresses in hardware.

Last edited: Jun 22, 2015
  3. OBW0549

Mar 2, 2015
  4. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    You can and must assign the slave address to the PIC when running it as a slave.

1-128 is an appropiate range, do check the I2C spec for reserved addresses and don't step on any other perif's you may be using.

5. LewisMF

Thread Starter Member

Nov 15, 2014
    I have checked the datasheet but I still do not have very clear what addresses I can give the slaves? Can I give them any address within the range of 1-128?