I2C acknowedge bit?

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
I am trying to interface to a DS1337 which uses the I2C bus. I have never used the IC2 bus before. The datasheet says that an ack bit needs to be sent after receiving data. Is this automatically handled by I2C or something I need to do? How do you send just one bit?

Acknowledge: Each receiving device, when addressed, is obliged to generate an acknowledge after the reception of each byte. The master device must generate an extra clock pulse that is associated with this acknowledge bit.
A device that acknowledges must pull down the SDA line during the acknowledge clock pulse in such a way that the SDA line is stable LOW during the HIGH period of the acknowledge-related clock pulse. Of course, setup and hold times must be taken into account. A master must signal an end of data to the slave by not generating an acknowledge bit on the last byte that has been clocked out of the slave. In this case, the slave must leave the data line HIGH to enable the master to generate the STOP condition.

Data transfer from a slave transmitter to a master receiver. The master transmits the first byte (the slave address). The slave then returns an acknowledge bit, followed by the slave transmitting a number of data bytes. The master returns an acknowledge bit after all received bytes other than the last byte.

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
Ha! Right in my wheelhouse..

In short, the ACK bit is generated automatically by the I2C peripherals in use. Who generates it and when depends on a few things.