I want to understand how my UPS inverter works

Antonyc

Joined May 17, 2016
Hi everyone,

This is my first post on the forum. I'm a computer programmer who has a fascination with learning!

I won't go into depth at the moment as to why, as it's a long story... But I want to understand how the inverter works - to a high level. I've tried to learn about it already, but I need more help.

This is my understanding up to now:

1: 24v power comes in through the anderson connector.
2: It seems to then go through a 40v, 2700uf capacitor. (why?)
3: It then goes to the two heatsinks and the middle legs of four mosfets. (H-bridge)
4: Something happens here (???) and then current flows through 4 63v, 1uf capacitors (why?)to the right legs of four more mosfets.
5: The mosfets give the charge to the outer two heatsinks of the h-bridge. The result is that the current is now AC (but for some reason only 12v instead of 24v - how/why?).
6: From here, the two heatsinks give the charge to a huge transformer.
7: The transformer dups.jpg oes its thing (fairly simple) and the output is three lives and a neutral. (Three taps?) The highest one seems to be 230v ish.
8: Something happens here which I don't understand - but it seems to involve mosfets, film capacitors, relays and transformers. I haven't got a clue what happens here...
9: There's a three pin socket, the middle socket isn't used but the outer two supply live and neutral.
10: The cable which takes those connections seems to have some small capacitors. (smoothing maybe?)

Ok, so the reason why I want to know about this is because I want to upgrade it, maybe run two together in parallel, or do whatever else to double or triple the watt capacity of the inverter. I have a few of these units and I want to make a 3kw, 24v - 240v inverter.

Can you add any details to this?

I'd greatly appreciate anyone's help with this!

Thanks, Antony

Attachments

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010