I want to monitor my sump pump

zirconx

Joined Mar 10, 2010
I would like to monitor my sump pit / pump in my basement. If I can get this data to my computer somehow then I can graph it, send myself a text message if there is a problem, etc.

I've been researching water level sensors/systems for quite a while but haven't found a good solution. I finally realized that it might be easier, and in fact even better, to monitor the pump running. I get a constant trickle of water, so the pump runs every 5-10 minutes or so. So if I can log when the pump runs I can tell if the interval is getting too short (lots of water) or if it stops (failed pump). I'd settle for just knowing when the pump starts, I don't even necessarily need to know how long it runs for.

I thought about using a vibration sensor on the drainage pipe, or maybe some kind of current sensor on the 120vac pump power cord?

I'm a complete newbie to micro-controllers. But I've done plenty of soldiering before, and I do programming for a living so I think this is something I can do.

I see there are tons of different options for microcontrollers. Something wireless would be ideal, but if necessary I could run a cable from the basement to my computer upstairs. I'd like to keep the budget under $100.

I would appreciate any input.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
There is typically a micro-switch on the arm of the float that turns the pump on and off with water level. You can meter that and use it as your logic source. It will either be on or off, so with a rectifier you can convert it to DC and use any TTL components your interested in. You can use it as a trigger point for your data logger.

You could use a 5v voltage regulator, and a wire to get to your pc, and that should be all you need for hardware.

You could hook the line into the a serial port and receive the on/off signal directly.

You should still have $95 left in your budget.

zirconx

Joined Mar 10, 2010