I/O Source Selection

mkruluts

Joined Jun 19, 2013
I am new to the world of micro controllers and I am coming into it as a hobbyist. I have two input sources of wiring and one destination. I want to put a slide switch to toggle between which set of wire signals gets passed through. I have no idea how to correctly accomplish this. I won't be sending any power over the wires, and if I do it won't be any more than 3 - 5 volts. Does anybody know or understand what I am trying to accomplish? Can anyone point me in the correct direction? If there is any proper terminology or devices, please include so I can learn as much as I can. I see this as a relatively rudimentary task, I may be wrong. Thanks in advance.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
It sounds like what you want is to essentially multiplex the two inputs to a single receiver, no?

This would enable you to select which lines the data comes over, with a single switch.

How many wires are in the source wiring, as the answer will dictate the approach? Also, are the signals digital?

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
Use a spdt switch. The switch will have one connector (we'll call this the output) that can selectively connect to the two other connectors (we'll call these the inputs). The output is usually the middle connector, but not always. So, connect your two sources to the two intputs and your destination to the output.

If you get confused with your switch, post a pic and we'll see if we can help you get it connected.

mkruluts

Joined Jun 19, 2013
Yeah... basically I have two shielded input cables with 5 wires in each. I have a circuit board that acts as a converter, appropriately mapping the signals to the correct output. I want wire two into a (for lack of better term) switch that will have a slider that will toggle between which of the two sources gets passed through to the circuit board with the micro controller that outputs in the correct layout.

mkruluts

Joined Jun 19, 2013