I need your help..

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by lidwina, Mar 16, 2010.

1. lidwina

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 16, 2010
    Hi, My name is Lidwina,
    I'm a product design student currently designing a product to bridge prenatal relationship between fetus and those around it.
    So my idea is to detect baby's kick and heartbeat and then convert it to light. I am thinking of using piezo sensors. oh, anyway, i have no electronic background at all. i totally need your help on the diagrams. cause im totally blind abt all of this.. will be very helpful if anyone can help me explain abit on what should i be doing, and how can i do it :)
    Anyone willing to help me ? :)
    thankyou much :D

2. Bychon

Mar 12, 2010
    IMHO, you don't stand a chance with piezo transducers. They would require the fetus to kick them directly in order to produce any usable voltage. The usual method of monitoring human bio signs is a voltage detector and amplifier. I would start typing about differential amps, common mode rejection, and low pass filters, but with no background in electronics, it would sound like Charlie Brown to you, "wah wah wah".

What you are proposing requires a full blown design engineer and weeks of development to adapt an available bio-monitor product to your purposes. This site doesn't do weeks of development.

3. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    I don't think it would be that complex. I'm thinking a simple microphone to listen for the sounds. The problem is making it unidirectional. The sounds could drive an LED bargraph.

If the OP is willing to learn some electronics I don't see it being insurmountable, I've helped beginners several times (and it was a week of work or more each time). The onus is on the OP to do the work though, and it would be serious work and a bit of money for parts. Things like protoboards ($14), wire ($5), tools to strip and bend wire ($10), and miscellaneous parts ($30).