I need to put an SMD Crystal on my through-hole board. How?

TheLaw

Joined Sep 2, 2010
Perhaps I am asking a question with a very obvious answer. Regardless, hopefully someone who is thinking straight might be able to help.

I'm a through-hole sort of guy. Always used through hole. But you see, I am designing an ultra-rugged Arduino board fully equipped with some of the best components in the world. (125C 100V caps, Ceramic/Metal Resistors, etc.) It's going to be able to withstand the worse.

Regardless, I am working on the circuit design and I realized "Oh shoot, I need to use an SMD crystal on this board. It's a 16Mhz crystal but has a super low PPM and is high temp rated. So, I've never used SMD before.

How do I get an SMD component on a board that is otherwise through hole. All the leads would be on the bottom and this would be on the top and...maybe it's just too late for me to think straight.

What basic PCB concept am I missing right now? How do I integrate this SMD component in this application or in any other application (for future reference)?

Thanks.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Get the crystal's outline off the data sheet and place pads at the correct spacing and dimensions on whichever side of the PCB works best. It will never know if it's on the "wrong" side.

Can you really do a microprocessor layout on a single sided board?

TheLaw

Joined Sep 2, 2010
Get the crystal's outline off the data sheet and place pads at the correct spacing and dimensions on whichever side of the PCB works best. It will never know if it's on the "wrong" side.

Can you really do a microprocessor layout on a single sided board?
Well you can do anything on a single sided board. It just depends on how big you want to make it. :D

Well, a very basic Arduino can be achieved on one side. http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardSerialSingleSided3