I need some help with a time delay circuit. Please help

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by arcaneiceman, May 14, 2011.

1. arcaneiceman

Thread Starter New Member

May 14, 2011
    Hello All.
    I have a project planned which basically needs to do the following and i dont really know where to start:
    I have a water well and a 1 hp motor that pulls water from it and almost finishes it in about 15 minutes and the well takes about 30 minutes to recharge after that, after which water can be drawn out again.
    I need to design a relay circuit or any other type of circuit that will allow the motor to be activated and keep it running for 15 minutes and then shut it off for 30 minutes and then turn in back on for 15 minutes and so on.. where do i start? please help. I am a beginner. thank you so much

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    I suggest that this would not be a good application for a timer. Although it may seem to you that the time required to fill/drain the well seems fairly constant, it will vary with how saturated the soil is, and how high the groundwater level is.

What you really need is a float switch.
    When the well is nearly filled with water, the float rises up, causing a switch to turn on, energizing your motor.
    When the well is nearly drained of water, the float descends, causing the switch to turn off, thus removing power from your motor.

3. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    Wookie, have you ever used a well like this? My folks were in an almost identical situation after my Dad retired from the Air Force. The well hole is deep (exact depth unknown, but guessing at 50'), and the hole is only 4"-6" or so wide. A float switch was not a practical solution for this problem.

Part of the reason it is a problem is you have to prime the pump when the well has been sucked dry. I used to do it regularly, as did the rest of the family.