I need some help wiring an AUX input to my honda civic.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by guscosta, Feb 24, 2011.

1. guscosta

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 23, 2011
    First off, hello allaboutcircuits. This is my first post in the forum. I found this forum doing research for this project and it seems there are many here who are well informed and willing to help. So here it goes...

I have a 2002 honda civic and after some research I decided that I should be able to wire a aux input to the car myself. I took apart the stereo and wasnt really sure where to wire everything.My stereo has a radio and a cd player, no tape deck. Im fairly new to electronics. I did a couple years as a physics major but never any real hands on experience with circuits.

So there were two circuit boards in my stereo. The main board and one attached to the actual cd drive. The pins where the cd drive attached to the main board are all clearly labeled. I figured Id wire my aux wire to the L,R, and S-GRND pins right there. I hooked everything back up and to my surprise it actually works! As soon as I connect my mp3 player the cd stops playing and the mp3 comes through.

There is a problem though, actually two. For one every couple of minutes it stops playing all together. It seems like its checking for a CD (there is a cd in there). Its kind of annoying, but even if I couldnt fix this Id still consider the project a success.