I need help with a trigger and timmer

larry gardner

Joined Sep 17, 2008
I want to build a metal target for airguns. It will be a metal plate with a 1" center hole drilled it. There will be a metal plate behind the first plate that must be hit buy shooting through the 1" hole.

I want to put a limit switch on the bullseye. I would like to have a circuit connected to the limit switch to turn on a flashing Led ( I already have the flashing LED) for several seconds

I need a circuit that when activated will power the led for a few seconds maybe around 4 seconds give or take. I need this to run on 12v

I am a amature machinist so metal work is no problem. I need help with the circuit. I would like to build several of these targets for my step daughter. I think it would help keep here interested.

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
Sounds like you need a simple NE555N monostable multivibrator, otherwise known as a one-shot. Do you have the knowledge and tools to build it if you can get a schematic? If so, this should work. When the switch is depressed, pin 3 of the 555 will go high and stay high for 10 seconds. If your flashing LED is connected through a current limiting resistor of 1k, it will flash for that ten seconds.

Attachments

Last edited:

larry gardner

Joined Sep 17, 2008
This would honestly be my first circuit. I can solider and I think I understand enough to build a simple circuit with good instructions. If you could supply a schematic and the list of components I need to buy I would really appreciate it

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
This would honestly be my first circuit. I can solider and I think I understand enough to build a simple circuit with good instructions. If you could supply a schematic and the list of components I need to buy I would really appreciate it
Have a look at the schematic on post #2. Does it make sense?

larry gardner

Joined Sep 17, 2008