I need help on DC

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by 1989mustang, Dec 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 1989mustang

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 20, 2012
    Hi everyone I am new to this site and need some help. Im building a 1989 5.0 mustang and Im going crazy with some issues with some electric radiator fans and ac blower motor that draw a lot of amps in return takes my my voltage charging system (130 amp) down to 12 volts from 14 volts :confused:.Can any one help me with regulating the draw on the radiator fans and blower motor where I can maintain a constant 13 volt charge. I can not figure this out So far I have tried to use resistors and still no luck can someone help Please.:)

2. fz1

Dec 20, 2012
    I'm still learning about electronics, but 15 years in auto parts tells me that what you should be looking into is a higher output alternator. I had a local rebuilder who took those motorcraft alternators and built them to 150, even 175 amp outputs.
    Just a thought.

3. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009
    If these motors are aftermarket. You will probably need a generator with higher output.

4. 1989mustang

Dec 20, 2012
    I have had one built a high amp alternator and they never tested it on the low end (idle) and they put low amps out at idle and I end up with the same problem one 180 dollar mistake I have already made. I can not get my money back cause it works but it takes 1300 RPM to get full amps looks like I'm up the creek without a paddle.

5. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009
    Have you tried some Mustang forums. They should be better prepared for solving your question. By the way this site do not allow automotive modification questions. Your question is inside the site rules. But if you had asked a question on how to modify your alternator. The moderators would have closed the thread. Take a look here at rule #6 http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/l_tos.html