I need help concerning two simple circuit designs.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by PRN.JRA, Jan 22, 2015.

1. PRN.JRA

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 13, 2015
    I am seeking advice concerning construction of what I assume to be fairly simple circuit designs. Excuse my ignorance as my background is in computer science, not electrical engineering. There are two projects I wish to build.

The first is a modification of this device:

http://www.eskimo.com/~billb/emotor/chargdet.html

Specifically modifying the simplest configuration:

http://amasci.com/emotor/fetdet1.gif

The circuit there activates an LED when the FET is switched on. What I want to do is make a version of this design where the LED is always on, until the FET is activated, which will then switch the LED off. Afterwards I want the LED to stay off, until the circuit is reset via a button. If someone could tell me the simplest way to make such a circuit, I would be very thankful.

The other project I would like to build is the simplest white noise generator circuit possible (including a speaker). I do not want to use an induction coil or antenna to do this via radiowaves. I want to produce white noise using circuit components only. What is the simplest way to produce white noise from a non-radio source?

I appreciate any and all advice concerning these projects.

2. Kermit2

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 5, 2010
    go to google IMAGES and search "white noise generator". You will get hundreds of simple circuits imaged on the page.

3. PRN.JRA

Jan 13, 2015
    I have done that Kermit2, the trouble is I don't know which of those hundreds of circuit designs are the optimal one to use. I'm looking for advice concerning the overall best and simplest method for that.

4. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010