I need advice on a possible miniature tube preamp for electret mic

Geek

Joined Sep 17, 2009
I'd like to use one of the Panasonic omni electrets for an onboard acoustic guitar mic.

I read about a 5672 pentode tube that appears to have extremely low voltage consumption that could possibly work.

I'm a long time hobbyist, and I can follow a schematic. But I don't have the ability to design something like this. So any advice or links will be appreciated.

I've added the 5672 spec sheet below, as well as specs for a Panasonic WM-64PN electret capsule.

Last edited:

Geek

Joined Sep 17, 2009
I found some specs on the tubes.

Subminiature type used in power output stage of subminiature equipment. Requires either a subminiature socket or direct soldering of the wires from the tube to circuit components.
Mechanical Data

Outline ....................................... 2-1
EIA Base ...................................... 2E31
Electrical Data

Heater Voltage ................................ 1.25 DC V
Heater Current ................................ 0.05 A
Maximum Ratings (Design Center Values)

Pentode
Plate Voltage ................................. 90 V
Grid No. 2 Voltage ............................ 90 V
Characteristics and Typical Operation

Class A Amplifier
Plate Voltage ................................. 67.5 V
Grid No. 2 Voltage ............................ 67.5 V
Grid No. 1 Voltage ............................ -6.5 V
Transconductance .............................. 650 µMho
Plate Current ................................. 3.25 mA
Grid No. 2 Current ............................ 1.1 mA
Load Resistance ............................... 20K Ω
Power Output (approx) ......................... 0.065 W

Geek

Joined Sep 17, 2009
And the specs for the Panasonic WM-64PN
This is pretty much within a hair of the majority of the Panasonic omni electrets.

Last edited:

KL7AJ

Joined Nov 4, 2008
I'd like to use one of the Panasonic omni electrets for an onboard acoustic guitar mic.