I am a complete noob and brand new to soldering

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by yourmom3882, Aug 3, 2016.

1. yourmom3882

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 3, 2016
    I was trying to make a 9 volt battery connector and this is my first time using my new soldering iron that i just bought today. I looked online and found what do to when you first get a brand new soldering iron which is to wait for it to heat up and then tin the tip which is what I did. But after my first few tries to tin a wire the tip started to turn black. SO now I don't know what to do or how to make it look clean again or if it really is a problem. SO PLEASE HELP. And any recomended channels or tips on how to better at soldering would really help.

First pic.jpg

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    1) wipe it on a damp sponge.
    2) get used to it looking black where you don't use the hot part.
    3) This belongs in, "Chat". I'll tell the moderators.
    4) you're supposed to tin the tip AS it heats, not after it's done getting hot.

yourmom3882 likes this.
  3. yourmom3882

Aug 3, 2016
    Thanks man I really appreciate it.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    5) I prefer a small, "chisel" tip. Your mileage may vary.

5. m zaid

Jan 9, 2016
    I'm a beginner myself, but my suggestion may be worth a try as it worked for me. That black i'll call it carbon layer develops when the tip gets very hot. What I did with mine was too pull tip out an inch. I thought the excess surface where it is air cooling sorta maintains the temperature at the tip...
    If the tip's surface got black as well and it doesn't melt the tin, I rubbed it against the jaws of a long nose plier.

wait, was yours temperature controlled already?

Last edited: Aug 3, 2016
    yourmom3882 likes this.
  6. yourmom3882

Aug 3, 2016
    Yea it had been turned on for like about 10 minutes . Or can you explain what temperature controlled is???

7. m zaid

Jan 9, 2016