Hydro powered generator

shezza

Joined Mar 19, 2014
Hi all,

I recently moved into a place with a creek running through it. I am wanted to install a mini water wheel to create electricity and am open to buying something ready or possibly building it myself. The creek is pretty tiny with a not so great flow rate, so I am talking about a wheel around about 6 or so inches large. I only dabble in electronics, so I am a bit nervous about starting from scratch. Any leads would be appreciated!

Thanks!

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
I have no experience. I would start with a bicycle wheel rim. I would mount small paddles of some kind, sideways, all around the rim, were the tire would normally go.

I would mount a belt pulley, where a normal bike sprocket would go. Use a fan belt to drive another pulley on a car alternator.

Mount a debris diverter upstream of wheel. You will have to experiment with wheel depth and pulley ratios, to see what kind of power you can get. Also different diameter wheels.

If it looks feasible, you might consider some type of water leveling structure or device in the wheel area. Or mounted on a float, if you have room. Or the drop from a small dam or culvert (pipe) could turn the wheel.

I'm sure there are better ideas with experience and your particular stream. Good luck.

Last edited:

hp1729

Joined Nov 23, 2015
Hi all,

I recently moved into a place with a creek running through it. I am wanted to install a mini water wheel to create electricity and am open to buying something ready or possibly building it myself. The creek is pretty tiny with a not so great flow rate, so I am talking about a wheel around about 6 or so inches large. I only dabble in electronics, so I am a bit nervous about starting from scratch. Any leads would be appreciated!

Thanks!
Speed is important. Starting small? A bicycle generator puts out about 9 Volts at 660 mA or so.
Larger? A car generator requires a few thousand RPM to put out full power.

Joined Nov 30, 2010