how to trigger some 12 devices with using 5v?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by kelvinchow87, Jun 14, 2009.

1. kelvinchow87

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 14, 2009
    i'm a student form malaysia.i'm studying PIC16f877a..
    i found a problem on triggering my 12v buzzer..
    my Pic output voltage is around 3.5V-5V..and not ability to trigger the buzzer...even i'm using 5v relay to trigger it..but is still not work..
    somebody can help me?

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    PIC microcontrollers have very limited current source/sink capability; 20mA maximum per I/O pin, and there is an additional total I/O current limit. If you operate near the maximums, you will make the lifespan of the uC much shorter.

Use a driver circuit, like an NPN transistor such as a 2N2222 with a 470 Ohm resistor connecting the PIC's output pin to the transistor's base, which will limit the current sourced from the pin to around 10mA. Ground the transistor's emitter, and sink current from the load via the transistor's collector.

Here's a couple of examples; driving a relay and driving a buzzer:
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 14, 2009
  3. franzschluter

Jun 1, 2009
    And don't forget to put protection diode on coil of relay or inductance device. This is to protect your transistor. You can use NPN as Mr. Sgtwookie adviced or use PNP. Some other prefer to use optocouplers as well. There is a variety of ways to do it.

1. Transistor NPN/PNP BJT

2. Optocoupler

3. Mosfet

4. CDRIVE

Jul 1, 2008
    Sgt.Wookie provided you with two circuits. One used a relay, that has a protection diode across the coil. The other circuit used a buzzer. If your buzzer isn't a Piezo Buzzer, but rather an electromechanical type, then you need a protection diode across the buzzer too! An electromechanical buzzer can generate thousands of high voltage spikes in a matter of seconds. ;)

5. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007