How to start Quadocopter...??

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by RRITESH KAKKAR, Apr 10, 2012.

  1. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    Hi All,

    I want to make a qQuadocopter for that i will like to work with one motor for testing purpose so, please suggest where to buy this BLDC motor from where, i am from India!
    I buy from this site, please tell will it work fine with this cost cost?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Audioguru

    New Member

    Dec 20, 2007
    9,411
    896
    A quad-copter uses four motors (one for each propeller). The gyroscopes and brain adjust the speed of each one separately to control the direction, speed and stability of the 'copter.

    Here is a link to a cheap ($169.99) little ready-to-fly one. It has brushed motors.
    There are 8 photos plus a video:
    http://www.horizonhobby.com/products/blade-mqx-rtf-BLH7500
     
  3. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    What is the maximum value of RPM can reach in any q-copter?
     
  4. Audioguru

    New Member

    Dec 20, 2007
    9,411
    896
    I think a quad-copter tilts and accellerates to make it spin around.
    Do you mean "what is the max RPM of a rotor"?

    My electric RC airplane with a brushless motor has a max RPM of about 8500 RPM.
    The cheap quad-copter I posted used brushed motors and gears so the motors spin very fast.

    Maybe you should talk about a quad-copter on a quad-copter chat site.
    Look at http://www.rcgroups.com/multi-rotor-helis-659/ .

    EDIT:
    The last few replies show a video of a multi-rotor electric helicopter carrying a guy.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2012
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  5. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    Hi,
    i have that motor as shown in my link!!
    so, i have got motor A2212-13 1000KV and propeller of EP.1047.
    both are not fitting on motor shaft please tell what to do??
     
  6. Audioguru

    New Member

    Dec 20, 2007
    9,411
    896
    The brushless motor is probably an "outrunner" type where the entire outside of it spins with the magnets inside it. Then the propeller adapter bolts onto the front of it. The propeller screws onto the adapter.

    What will you do with only one motor and propeller? The torque will spin your helecopter around and around. You need at least two propellers spinning in opposite directions to cancel the torque and allow the helicopter to turn when you want it to turn.
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  7. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    Actually i am using motor for testing purpose only after that i will buy more!!
    so, it is interesting to know that, even 2 motor can fly copter that's cool!

    Its not going to simple as it sound like, the hole in propeller is very small and the height is also more than of adapter. so, i have to fine a way.
     
  8. Audioguru

    New Member

    Dec 20, 2007
    9,411
    896
    Maybe they sent the wrong propeller or the wrong adapter.

    Haven't you ever seen real and model helicopters?
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  9. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    I talk to them they said you need to drill and fit as suitable, thats all they reply..!!

    If have seen this helicopter many times but i think it is not easy to attach both motor and propeller at same shaft!!

    One more i was testing the BLDC motor with its drive the SCL to gnd and SDA to potential meter. the speed can't be changed but i have found that the propeller was working fine but not giving a good thrust, why??
    I am using 11.4V adapter of 2Amps max.
    http://robokits.co.in/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=73&products_id=339
     
  10. Audioguru

    New Member

    Dec 20, 2007
    9,411
    896
    If the propeller is on backwards then the thrust is low.
    Maybe the motor is cheap.
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  11. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    I have checked the both thrust in both direction but ,found no good thrust!

    I have give nice money for that you can see its specification!
     
  12. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
  13. Audioguru

    New Member

    Dec 20, 2007
    9,411
    896
    It sounds like your motor and propeller are spinning slowly.
    My electric RC airplane has a brushless motor and it and its prop spin at a much higher speed. It has enough thrust to lift the entire airplane straight up at a fast speed.
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  14. strantor

    AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 3, 2010
    4,302
    1,988
    +1 I think your motor should be spinning much faster
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  15. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    Also probably about 1/4 to 1/3 of the area of the prop is in front of the board it's attached to. That is going to reduce the thrust by some hard to predict amount.
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  16. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    so, how to increase the thrust ??, please tell all factor....!!
    and how to measure this BLDC motor RPM?
    why motor is talking 1.5A not more than it?
     
  17. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    [update] Today, i found that while testing the motor was consuming more current than before after that i added parallel connection of supply to have more Amps.
    I found that motor was taking 3.8A the max supply current was also limited somewhere as 4Ams9 max discharging current 6A).
    so, the propeller was giving a good thrust then before..!!
    so, i am decided i will add other power suplly to have more Amps and then tell the result.
     
  18. Audioguru

    New Member

    Dec 20, 2007
    9,411
    896
    Electric model airplanes and helicopters use a lightweight Li-Po battery that provides as much current as the motor needs.
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  19. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    I have used them, actually i have 12V 2Amps (2C) li battery.
    OK, so i will require to make the stability of plane for that which will require gyro or accelerometer.
    i want to test it with PID loop.
     
  20. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    I'd recommend using a thin strut to support the motor, preferably the same dimensions as you intend to use in the final model.
    Also, if you want to do accurate tests, make sure that the motor isn't close above a surface. You want at least a propellor diameters worth of air directly under the motor, otherwise the ground effect affects the result.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ground_effect_(aircraft)#Ground_effect_with_helicopters
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
Loading...