How to start a LED using a TTL circuit

ADHD

Joined Jan 18, 2011
The LED has 3V @ 60 mA.

As far as i know, the TTL has at least 2,4V @ Voh, but i don't know the current.
I also remember that a transistor is a current amplifier, but what about the voltage ?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Generally it is better to use the open collector version of TTL, that way you get the entire power supply voltage to play with. Something like the 7447 for example, it was meant to drive LEDs.The 7405 is an open collector versions of a hex inverter.

If all else fails you can use a transistor. Basic TTL circuits are not meant to drive LEDs.

How much experience do you have?

ADHD

Joined Jan 18, 2011
I'm just a programmer enrolled in a Digital Circuits class and i have a final in less than 24 h.
I only need to know this stuff theoretically ( circuit diagram ).

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Here is how you would use a TTL gate open collector...

Thing about open collector, Vcc can be up to 15VDC.

You can do something similar with regular TTL outputs. You need to consult your notes and materials, since they may have their own ideas, but personally I wouldn't try to drive a LED directly using this (Wikipedia TTL schematic)...

The TTL current output would be 6ma. Hmmm, maybe it would work. Not something I would do, but plenty good enough to light an LED.

Attachments

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
The 74XX familly has outputs that reach almost always the HIGH level of Vcc and have a maximum current output of 40mA.
Voltage ratings drop when the load exceeds the 40mA.

So that particular LED you are referring to wouldn't work with a 74XX IC. A normal LED with 10mA @ 2V or so would need a current liming resistor when hooked in a 74XX output.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008