How to see ON/OFF status by using SCT-013 via Raspberry Pi?

coskukoz

Joined Jun 23, 2016
Hello,

I'm trying to make a project and I have a trouble. The project is 'online monitoring of machine'. I will show ON if machine works and OFF if machine does not work. And the rule is: I can not effect machine by my circuit. So it looks so simple. I bought SCT-013 non-invasive current sensor and connected it to the Raspberry Pi over MCP3008 ADC. When I run the program I see ON and OFF both even machine works. I just need ON or OFF according to machine status. I checked the signal from SCT-013 by oscilloscop and the signal is like below here. If you guys have ideas please share with me.

current.png

Best Regards.
Coskun.

jnre

Joined Jul 13, 2016
dear coskukoz,

i am a student and i am currently doing the same exact setup, raspberry to mcp3008 as adc followed by a sct013-000 yhdc current sensor.

my objective is to hook this up to a machine to calibrate current data.

problem is i come from a mechanical engineering background an am pretty inexperience into the world of electronics.

it would be a huge favour if you could guide me on the setup. i have already look at the openenergymonitor website which uses arduino and have roughly put all the wiring together. however i do not wish to blow my pi up and am unsure on the coding part too.

do advise me on steps i can take and would be good if you have a schematic of your work.

cheers

coskukoz

Joined Jun 23, 2016
dear coskukoz,

i am a student and i am currently doing the same exact setup, raspberry to mcp3008 as adc followed by a sct013-000 yhdc current sensor.

my objective is to hook this up to a machine to calibrate current data.

problem is i come from a mechanical engineering background an am pretty inexperience into the world of electronics.