How to retreive & display on LCD a string stored in rom

NorwegianFunk

Joined Nov 8, 2009
Hey guys, this is my first post to the forum, and I am also pretty new to PIC programming, and C as well.

I need to display a menu that I made using 30+ strings on an oled display (works the same as an LCD, to my knowledge), on the PIC18F46K20 starter kit.

So it worked until I ran out of RAM. Now that I learned how to store the strings in program memory (calling them const rom unsigned char string1[]), I have saved space. And I know it was saved correctly, because if I view the program memory viewer in mplab, it shows up.

My question is: how can I retreive these saved strings and display them on the OLED screen? Currently, all that I see is jumbled garbage.

Thanks!
-Funk

Kanutus

Joined Nov 12, 2009
Could it be that you only need to convert the values back to ASCII somehow? Do you notice if there is a consistency in what you get back? Say you write (and retrieve) something like "ABCDEFGHIJK ..." what does that look like when you try to display it?

Hey guys, this is my first post to the forum, and I am also pretty new to PIC programming, and C as well.

I need to display a menu that I made using 30+ strings on an oled display (works the same as an LCD, to my knowledge), on the PIC18F46K20 starter kit.

So it worked until I ran out of RAM. Now that I learned how to store the strings in program memory (calling them const rom unsigned char string1[]), I have saved space. And I know it was saved correctly, because if I view the program memory viewer in mplab, it shows up.

My question is: how can I retreive these saved strings and display them on the OLED screen? Currently, all that I see is jumbled garbage.

Thanks!
-Funk

maxpower097

Joined Feb 20, 2009