How to power a 50 Watt 34V Chip LED super cheap?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Craig Nash, Aug 30, 2016.

1. Craig Nash

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 30, 2016
    I broke my phone a few days ago, just the outside of the screen, so touch is dead on it, but the rest of it works just fine, including the LCD. So, I have wanted to do a DIY HD LED Projector for a LONG time, and here we go. I was able to get the backlight off the LCD, and have it all ready to go, I ordered some mirrors, Fresnel lenses, and etc, and then I went in search of an LED to light it, I am trying to do this as CHEAP as possible, I am on medical leave right now from an accident I was in, so funds are tight and I am VERY bored. Anyways, I have experience with LASER Diodes, but not much with LED's, and am an IT Network Engineer by trade, not an electrical engineer. I hit Amazon and found a 50 Watt Super Bright LED CHIP for like $2... and it is 4,000 Lumens, PERFECT! I am just gonna hookup an old water cooled processor cooler I have. Now, I have to power it, and I am not familiar with LED drivers, and I am hoping I can just find the parts to power it for free by cannibalizing things. Here are the specs on the LED:

50W Cool /Warm White LED Cool White Bulb High Power Energy Saving Lamp Panel Chip (Cool White)
    • Drive Voltage:30-34V;Chip power:50w
    • Size (L*D):50mm*45mm Viewing Angle: 140 degree
    • Color Tempreture: Cool White 6000-6500K
    • Luminous(lv):4000-5000lm