How to modify signal from Speedometer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeremywrags

Joined Nov 30, 2012
Hi All,

I am thinking of a DIY project for my Jeep that will modify the speedometer signal before it hits the Jeeps computer as to correct the speed for the offset of bigger tires and alterd gearing.

There is a commercial product HealTech SpeedoHealer but it's a little expensive and since I know enough to be dangerous about the Arduino I figured why not play with a solution myself...

So here is what I know.

1. There is a Sensor on my transfer case that has 3 Wires coming out of it.
a. Red = 5v constant
b. Black = Ground
c. White = ? I am assuming that this is the singal that represents speed
2. Inside the sensor is a gear that I could change if I didnt want to do this project

I assume that the transfer case spins the gear and the sensor generates some sort of signal based on the number of teeth that the gear has.

OK... I am a programmer but have very limited electronics knowledge. Can someone explain to me what the characteristics of that signal would probably be and perhaps how I might change it using an arduino?

DerStrom8

Joined Feb 20, 2011
tshuck is right. The moderators/administrators on this forum have chosen not to allow automotive modifications due to the possibility of mistakes that can lead to injury, or possible legal issues. Due to this decision, don't be offended if this thread gets closed.

Regards,
Matt

jeremywrags

Joined Nov 30, 2012
Fair enough on the safety issue, thanks for the heads up. As for going to the dealer of course I could but what would be the fun in that. The whole point of this is to learn a little and solve a comon problem myself.