How to measure 220?

mcpeck

Joined Feb 10, 2008
Hey guys, I'm not a professional electrician, but have worked with electrical quite a bit and have a pretty good understanding of regular household 110v.

I have a friend with a hot tub and he is in the process of replacing all of the pumps and heating elements and basically re-doing everything on it. Anyway, there are both 110 and 220 options when buying new systems. He's pretty sure that he's got 220 running to at least part of the tub, but also thinks there is 110 going to part of it.

I thought these things ran purely on 220, but the guy who owned the house before him was kind of a Jerry rig type of guy, so who knows.

I need to go over and see if and where the 220 is on this thing, but I have never done anything with 220 and am not really sure how to go about measuring for it with my multi meter.

Is it the same as measuring any 110 curcuit? Is there anything I should watch out for especially? I asked if there was a separate breaker for what he thinks is the 220, and he said there is a separate breaker there, so I'm assuming there's 220 in the house then, just need to know how to measure with the meter.

Thanks.

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
The breaker for a 220 circuit will be a "ganged" breaker - two breaker switches with a strong mechanical connection between them. Ideally, there will be a red "hot" wire from one of them and a black "hot" wire from the other. The white wire goes to the neutral bus and the bare or green wire goes to the ground bus.

On the tub end, anything requiring 110 will go between one of the hot wires and the neutral (white) wire. Ideally, one should balance current between these - almost never 100% practical, though. Anything requiring 220 will go between the red and black wires.

Here's why: http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_2/chpt_10/1.html