How to make rapid 12v pulse?

ohiopsd

Joined Oct 21, 2009
I have a project, need to make a piece of test equipment that sends a 12v signal about 30 times per second. I figure a circuit of some sort would be best here.
And if there was a way to make the pulse adjustable, that would work great. Need to figure out exactly what pulse would work best for the tester, I'm guesssing at 30 pulse/sec now. Would it be a simple device adjustment, or would it entail starting over with other electronics components?

I am a beginner at electronics but have a basic understanding, love to learn and am very hands-on.
Thanks for any help.

bluebrakes

Joined Oct 17, 2009
a 555 timer should be more than suitable for this project and it's perfect for beginners. Is it just a solid square wave pulse you want to send?

Putting variable resistors in the circuit will enable you control of the pulse too.

ohiopsd

Joined Oct 21, 2009
12v DC, automotive related. Amps, not really sure, a few I guess. How can I check to get a better answer for you?

Edit: Sorry, I see now you didn't ask about amps...

Last edited:

ohiopsd

Joined Oct 21, 2009
No, fuel injection solenoid. 30 pulses per second might not be possible with 12v, they run at 120v normally, I was trying to keep the project simple. I know the solenoids will still activate with 12v, I do it manually with a switch all the time. I would like to have something that will pulse them very quickly, quicker than I can flick a switch on and off repeatedly.
Thanks.

ohiopsd

Joined Oct 21, 2009
Early versions were 100v, then they were oem bumped to 110v, then 120v. We change a resistor in some of the electronics to bump to 140v. Makes them real snappy.