How to make an ammeter

justhifi

Joined Jun 15, 2010
I am an absolute newbie to electronics design and I'm looking to make an ammeter to monitor the current in a small little set up that I have. I use a 9V battery to power my little rig and need to be able to monitor the current from across the room. I was hoping for some help on how to make one that uses some LEDs as the display. Perhaps one for each 1/4 mA . The current range that I am expecting is 0 to about 20mA.

Thanks in advance !!

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
Welcome to AAC.
For this U will need some complicated comparators circuits and an LM3914 IC's in cascade
Complicated in the sense means there resistor values have to be calculated to get the exact amount of threshold.
One more thing is a current shunt.
First tell us where you are from and how you can get these components.

KL7AJ

Joined Nov 4, 2008
I am an absolute newbie to electronics design and I'm looking to make an ammeter to monitor the current in a small little set up that I have. I use a 9V battery to power my little rig and need to be able to monitor the current from across the room. I was hoping for some help on how to make one that uses some LEDs as the display. Perhaps one for each 1/4 mA . The current range that I am expecting is 0 to about 20mA.

Thanks in advance !!

Greetings....there are multitudes of ways of doing this, depending on how tricky you want to get.

All current meters function in essentially the same way, by measuring a small voltage drop across a known shunt resistance.

As far as an LED driver is concerned, you can build what's known as a "thermometer" decoder, which is simply a string of voltage comparators, each at a slightly higher threshold voltage. It's not really a decoder, because there's no real logic involved...each comparator just drives a separate LED. A couple of quad comparators will give you eight different levels.

Look at other AAC threads on voltage comparators.

Eric

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009