How to hook up 480V 3 phase on the power panel side?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Peter C, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. Peter C

    Peter C Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Hi guys I been searching for diagrams on how to hook up 480V and can't find any.

    So here is the problem:
    I have a box W.A. Benjamin (old one) that is rated at 480Y/277.
    I tested the three leads against the ground and got 208V each. How to get get 3 wires of 480V from this box? Do I do the following?

    Connect the 3 live wires the following way.
    A-B = for the first 480V wire going into the circuit breaker input 1
    B-C = for the second 480V wire going into the circuit breaker input 2
    A-C = for the third 480V wire going into the circuit breaker input 3


    then run it to my motor. The motor is already hooked up just waiting for the (3) 480V wires.

    Just wanted to get a confirmation before I make the hookup. I don't want anything to blow because of the high voltage.

    Thanks in advance.
    Peter
  2. thingmaker3

    thingmaker3 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5,072
    Location:
    Rural, Oregon GMT -8
    Your description makes no sense. (No offense intended.) 208Vac is a measurement from a 120/208 system. A 277/480 system would measure 277Vac.

    Do NOT connect phase-to-phase! People get killed that way!

    Please have an experienced electrician hook up your panel.
  3. tincat2

    tincat2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    hills of west virginia
    don't know for sure from your post, but it sounds like you've got 208 VAC coming out of the wall(or transformer, possibly a computer room ups setup). what you call a box sounds like a three pole breaker-you should find out what you're dealing with before you proceed, e.g., is your motor a 480v three phase, etc.? listen to thingmaker3 and get someone in there who can check things out.
  4. recca02

    recca02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    India-22.35° N 82.68° E.
    is this a three phase transformer?

    if thats the case you can get 480 V between phases not line and ground since generally line values are specified.
    also do you have 277 V phase to phase at the primary?
    there are lots of questions.
    this is the reason god made creatures called electricians.


    mr thingmaker is himself a good electrician btw :)
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
General Electronics Chat Want to verify for proper hookup May 29, 2014
General Electronics Chat hooking phone speaker and mic to board Dec 18, 2013
General Electronics Chat InfraRed panel hook up help pls Oct 15, 2013
General Electronics Chat Prototype Hookup Jun 25, 2013
General Electronics Chat Hooking up an APC LX power module at home. Mar 1, 2013

Related Site Pages

Section Title

Share This Page