How to find the resistence if it is not noted

computergirl

Joined Dec 13, 2014
I am taking a basic electric class and am stumped. In of my assignments it asks things like figure out RT, IT, IR1, IR2, IR3, VR1,Vr2,VR3, R2, PR1, PR2 and PR3. The circuit has the voltage at 18.399v, R1 at 1000 ohms, R2 is ? and R3 is 470 ohms. How would I figure out the missing ohms? My class is self taught and the "teacher" doesn't respond. SO I decided to see if someone that has knowledge on this could help. I believe this circuit is parallel.
I am not looking for answers. I have to learn this but am extremely stumped on how to figure the R2 and RT out. I looked in a book and see stuff like this but when you crunch the problem the answers offered are not what I come up with so I know I am doing this wrong. If it is already been answered please don't yell at me. I looked on the book that is offered but I don't know what to ask to get the right section.
Thank you for your help in understanding this and I am sure I will be asking a lot due to me just starting this electric thing.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

A schematic drawing of the circuit would help.
You can upload the schematic using the "Upload a File" button under the reply window.

Bertus

computergirl

Joined Dec 13, 2014
Hello,

A schematic drawing of the circuit would help.
You can upload the schematic using the "Upload a File" button under the reply window.

Bertus
I don't have access to the file right now I want to post it with different values. I will post one tomorrow. Thank you for responding. The diagram is a rectangle with the voltage being on the left and the R1 r2 and r3 are on the right side of the rectangle in a line. There is not any cross members or parallel lines.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Circuit analysis relies on Ohm's Law if the circuit elements are linear in behavior.

I = V/R