How to Find Optical Switches with 3.3V Output?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Zero Potential, Jul 30, 2016.

1. Zero Potential

Thread Starter Member

Mar 25, 2015
    I'm trying to set up a lathe for CNC. I need to set up a couple of optical switches to provide input from the spindle. I plan to mount a thin disc around the spindle with a slot in it. The switches will be mounted at 90 degrees to each other. The slot will turn the switches on and off as it passes through them on each revolution of the spindle.

I need each switch to put out a 3.3V signal; the controller receiving the signals can work with anything between 3.3 and 5 volts.

I have never used an optical switch before. I looked at Mouser's site, and when I checked the datasheets for switches, they went into great detail concerning the output CURRENT, but I don't see anything about signal voltage. Am I missing something here?

2. Bernard

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 7, 2008
    Assume a photo transistor output stage, open collector; when energized output will be low, when off, output will be supply V in series with collector load. Supply V 3.3 V-- output 3.3 V.

3. Zero Potential

Thread Starter Member

Mar 25, 2015
    Thank you for your reply. I just assumed there would be voltage gain.

So apparently, just about any switch that fits will do the job.

4. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    Optocouplers have a current gain from input to output (called transfer ratio, which has a typical value of less than one.
    This output current is converted to a voltage by a load resistor at the output.

5. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    The slot opto output is open collector so you should be OK, BTW if setting up a quadrature pair, you can get dual slot opto's to do this a little simpler than two units.
    Max.

Zero Potential likes this.
  6. Zero Potential

Thread Starter Member

Mar 25, 2015
    Thanks for the replies.