How to drop voltage using diodes

adelage

Joined Aug 22, 2014
Hi everyone :)
I'm new to the the forum and to electronics in general, I am used to deal with computers but when it comes to single electronic components I am almost completely ignorant..
That said, the problem I'm facing now is:
I have a few server fans rated 12V and 3.24A, I need them to run at around 8V and 10V (no matter to be accurate, any voltage within this range should be fine), I have a lot of resistors, and about 20 wirewound ones rated 7W and 10W, but since I also have around a hundred of various diodes, I was wondering if it was possible to use them (if necessary i will post the codes, but it's gonna be a quite long list) instead of the resistors to have a more efficient voltage drop.
So, ideally, which diode would I need to drop 2/4V in a fan rated 12V and 3.24A?

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
What ever you use to drop 4V at 3.25A will dissipate 13W, which will get stinking hot. If you use a wire-wound resistor, it better be rated for at least 15W.

Can you mount it in the airstream so that whatever it is is cooled by its own airflow?

to3metalcan

Joined Jul 20, 2014
What value resistors? You may need to put a few of them in parallel to accommodate the wattage. I've used dropping resistors to quiet noisy fans, before, and I was surprised at how much wattage was needed.

Less sure about the diodes, unless you've got some really big rectifiers, and then you'll probably need about six of 'em.

adelage

Joined Aug 22, 2014
well, thanks all for the quick replies :)
about the diodes, I apologize if I haven't been enough clear, I posted the question just because I have bought this "lucky bag" (second picture,s011) and, since I know that they could be used to drop the voltage I was hoping if there was any usable, but considering that I am completely ignorant about and the current is quite high, I'm probably gonna use the resistors instead.