How to drive relays?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by s57aw, Dec 18, 2013.

1. s57aw

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 18, 2013
    Hello guys,

I am quite newbie in electronic and more or less self-taught in this area.

I would be happy if you take a look into these schematics with Arduino:
    http://remoteqth.com/hw/band_decoder_sch.png

I have project completed and digital outputs from Arduino send signal through resistor and led diode, optocoupler and NPN transistor.

There are 12 open collector outputs and I want to drive 12v relays (about 30ma, 360 ohm coil resistance) on the SV2 outputs.

I have applied +12v to the relay, put diode over coil and connected specific output to other side of the coil but relay doesn't switch, I got only appropriate led diode on but it looks no output for the relay.

What I am missing - appreciate your suggestions. What about pin 13 on the SV2 output, should it be connected somewhere?

Regards,

Robert

2. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    There is no source of base current to the final NPN relay switching transistors.

3. s57aw

Dec 18, 2013
    Thanks Mike,

What do you recommend?

Robert

4. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    This configuration would be the way I would wire it up. Note that the base current of each NPN is supplied via a pull-up resistor and the opto-isolator. Also note that the 0V terminal of the 12V power supply does not connect to the MCU's 0V (GND). One side of each relay connects to +12V.

5. s57aw

Dec 18, 2013
    Thanks,

I am looking at my project as it is now (like on the schematics). I have one opto-isolator and NPN after LED. All Emiters of final NPNs are connected in parallel in they are floating - pin13. My idea is to energize one relay on each output (1 - 12 on SV2). I see two relays in series in each output in you schematics.

6. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    I only showed two channels in the schematic I posted; you have 12.