how to draw the pcb stuff?

zero_coke

Joined Apr 22, 2009
Im new to the whole pcb stuff, and I wanna take my schematic I have on Multisim and turn it into a pcb. How do I do this?

I basically wanna build my circuit on a chip so I've been using breadboards till now and I need to go to chip mode :)

EDIT: I see some examples of PCB boards, but some of my components are giant like a palm-sized transformer. I don't think the PCB software takes this into account and it kinda jumbles everything into one small area...what do I do about this?

Last edited:

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
One of the most often used PCB packages is Eagle from Cadsoft, and there are lots of tutorials for it on the net, one especially good is from Sparkfun - this and the next two sections. First you will have to transfer your schematic from multisim, and I think you will have to do this more or less manually.

I am not quite sure what you meant in the edit, the PCB software basically doesn´t take anything into account, you need to take care of all the details. You usually can choose from lots of standard components like resistors, diodes, ICs etc., but for special things like a transformers or other less common components you will have to make your own library parts - schematic symbol and footprint for the PCB. This is also covered in the sparkfun tutorial.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
EDIT: I see some examples of PCB boards, but some of my components are giant like a palm-sized transformer. I don't think the PCB software takes this into account and it kinda jumbles everything into one small area...what do I do about this?
You have to manually move and rotate the components into appropriate position. You try to minimize trace lengths and crossovers by observing the "rat's nest" wiring connections (available on most layout software) as you move the components.

gootee

Joined Apr 24, 2007