how to detect short/open network cable?

speed1

Joined Mar 9, 2012
Hi all,
I'm working for a graduation project as a computer Engineer.
My project is to make a LCD network cable tester, I have done with the simple simulation to test the cable wither it is OK or not.

the project construct of two parts:

first (main part): micro controller PIC16F877 with LCD & RJ-45 socket
second: a RJ-45 socket

the idea is to send data from PIC to first cable (pin0) and receive it throw (pin1).

But the problem is how to detect the fault (short/open) if it does on the LCD?

Thank you all
Haridi

BillO

Joined Nov 24, 2008
I'm a little surprised at your request. If you have made it to the point where you are about to graduate as an engineer, I am in disbelief that you cannot at least make an attempt at this. This is not that tough, especially for someone that should be educated enough to be called an engineer.

Can you at least take a stab at it and post your best guess here so we can help you with the details?

On the other hand, send me $10,000 and I'll write your final project for you.:D

speed1

Joined Mar 9, 2012
I'm a little surprised at your request. If you have made it to the point where you are about to graduate as an engineer, I am in disbelief that you cannot at least make an attempt at this. This is not that tough, especially for someone that should be educated enough to be called an engineer.

Can you at least take a stab at it and post your best guess here so we can help you with the details?

On the other hand, send me $10,000 and I'll write your final project for you.:D
Thank you BillO :D no I will not pay you 10000 $ :p

this what i have done :)

Now with this I can check the cable if it is ok or not, but I don't know if there is a problem in the cable or not