How to detect %Red/Red pixels

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ccst91, Dec 7, 2013.

1. ccst91

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 7, 2013
    Hey everyone
    I'm a biomedical student working on a project and am kind of stuck.
    The project involves the detection of blood in the urine.
    The idea is to calculate the percentage red or number of reddish pixels and correlate that to a blood concentration. The correlation is something that shouldn't be too hard but I'm having trouble on the best way to get the %red/ red pixels.

Initially I was going to create a smartphone application that would take a picture, and process the image to obtain the %red. The problem with this is that not all phone cameras are the same.

I was suggested to get some sort of photodetector to do this. Does anyone have any idea of how this would work? Would it directly get the %red or would it take a picture and I would have to output that to something like Matlab to process?
    I was looking at some USB CMOS cameras that are compatible with Matlab, but I'm not sure if they will work.. don't want to spend $250 on it before knowing.
    Here's one I was looking at : http://www.theimagingsource.com/en_US/products/oem-cameras/usb-cmos-color/

Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated.

2. JohnInTX

Jun 26, 2012
    Could you include a color reference in the photo and correct to that?

3. ccst91

Dec 7, 2013
    You mean sticking with the phone application idea and using a color reference in there to correct to?
    I may be able to.. I have no experience creating app's but that is another idea that was suggested.
    If i had like a red card or something that should be 100% red, and use that as a standard. I'm not sure what other camera spec's might be different though.