How to design what amounts to a variable load resistor

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by CaryInVancouver, Apr 15, 2011.

1. CaryInVancouver

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 25, 2011
    I am interested in using a power supply that provides 12A at 5V. It requires a minimum 3A load, however. I understand that could be achieved with a (5V/3A=) 1.7 Ohm load resistor placed between +5V and ground (possibly achieved by using larger-Ohm resistors wired in parallel). My question is whether there is a more efficient way of maintaining a load of at least 3A, so that the max load is not effectively reduced to 9A.

Let X be the load in amps. I would like to add some parts to the circuit that would create an additional load of 3-X amps (or 3A) when X < 3A, but add no load when X >= 3A. Any ideas?

If it's not obvious, I'm pretty new to this hobby.

Cary

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    There are definitely ways to accomplish this. The question is which is easiest.

I'd consider a constant current supply, where the current level is controlled by a measurement of the total load. So if total load is greater than 3A, the circuit supplies zero to its load. At any lower total load, the circuit adds current to make up the difference.

If that all makes sense, look at the constant current supply here for the general idea. It would need to be modified to vary the current depending on the total being driven by the power supply. I think you'd need a second op-amp on the LM358 to accomplish that - to convert the total current into a reference voltage to apply to the pin of the op-amp in the circuit shown. This would replace the reference voltage set with the potentiometer in the diagram.
    Picture 1.png

Last edited: Apr 15, 2011
    CaryInVancouver likes this.
  3. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    I don't get it.. Why buy a 12A power supply only to have to put a dummy load on it..

4. CaryInVancouver

Jan 25, 2011