How to design a PWM switch mode DC-DC converter

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by odinaustin, Aug 24, 2012.

1. odinaustin

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 2, 2011
    Hello everyone,

This is my first time to post help here. I am not electronics guy and this is my first electronic project. Please give me some suggestion or help to my problem. Thank you very much!

The project is about building up a furnace with a k-type thermocouple for temperature sensing and a PWM switch DC/DC converter as a power supply controller. Basically the temperature read from the thermocouple will determine how much the duty cycle of the PWM will be for the voltage supply to the furnace resistive heaters. I attached a schematic of the furnace system control here for your further understanding.(Fig.1)

[​IMG]

For the thermocouple, I am using AD595 as signal conditioner for the k-Type thermocouple. The analog signal from AD595 will be sent to a LabJack data acquisition card that I can read from the LabView on computer.

For the PWM switch mode DC/DC supply, I am using a MIC5021 (MICREL Inc.) as an n-channel MOSFET driver. The operation frequency is about 100KHz. The power supply is +24V voltage supply. The voltage of heaters I want to apply is about 20V and the maximum current I want to achieve is about 3A. I attached the schematic here. I placed low pass filters at both input and output to secure that I have clean voltage supplying to the load. (Fig.2)

My questions are:

1. How to design the inductance and capacitance of the input LC filter?
    2. What kinds of n-channel MOSFET should I choose?
    3. The sensing resistor is about 0.01 Ohm. What kinds of special resistor should I choose?
    4. In the buck converter part, how do I calculate the inductance and the capacitance?
    5. What kinds of diode should I choose for the buck converter part?
    6. At the output filter, how do I calculate the capacitance and inductance?