How to correctly power op-amp?

Aries01

Joined Aug 11, 2014
I want to make this pwm for controlling motors speed without sacrificing torque. I followed the schematic and put it together on a bread board. But I have never messed with op-amps before, so I don't exactly know how to power it.
here is the schematic.
Here is the link to the site: http://www.michaels-electronics-lessons.com/pwm.html

I really want to make this work. But I don't know where the positive or the negative wire of the power supply should go. Also in the diagram it show a ground symbol with a 0 next to it, what does that indicate?
thank you in advance.
please forgive my ignorance as I'm new to making circuits, but I really want to understand.

here is the data sheet: http://www.taydaelectronics.com/datasheets/A-927.pdf

Attachments

Last edited:

Aries01

Joined Aug 11, 2014
so that means 7 is negative, right?
so to power it, all i do is hook my positive wire to 14 and the negative to 7.
thank you for the quick response.

Last edited:

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
Link the datasheet of the part, tell us if you want single supply or dual supply for the part, and we will tell you which pin receives what.

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
so that mean 7 is negative, right?
It means that:
* in single supply setup Pin 7 is connected to 0 volts (ground)
* in dual supply setup Pin 7 is connected to negative voltage supply
So.
Are you using single supply or dual supply?
(There are two answers to that question and you only need to choose one of them.)

Aries01

Joined Aug 11, 2014
I think I am using a single supply, it is an ac to dc wallwart style supply with different voltage options and a polarity switch.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Your schematic shows a single supply so Pin 7 would be connected to ground. 0 next to the ground symbol just means that it's the 0V reference point for all the other voltages.