How to convert 12V/80A to 36V/10A?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by espguitarist, Jul 19, 2012.

1. espguitarist

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 19, 2012
    Hey guys,

I'm working on a board that will control some components that dissipate 210W at 36V. The power source will be a generator that puts out 12V at 80A.

I'm a mechanical engineering student, but I haven't done any circuits yet so I am in way over my head on this. I'm not really even sure if I've worded my question correctly, so hopefully I won't be flamed too badly. ;)

I've got most of the board and components figured out, but I can't seem to figure out what kind of components I should use to get the voltage and current that I want.

Cost and size are factors here. I know I could go and buy some kind of big transformer or amplifier that will do what I want, but I don't need something that complex or expensive.

Thanks!

2. takao21203

Distinguished Member

Apr 28, 2012
    The attached circuit can easily be changed for boost converter configuration.

For 10A you need more than one MOSFET.

Or large power NPN transistors eventually.

If you need storage coils, I have coils that are good for upto 6 Amps each, and can be used 2x parallel for double current.

Having 12V input, the TL494 supply is more simple- directly power it from the 12V input.

I made modifications to the schematic but don't have a printed schem.
    However they are trivial.

Difference between buck/boost maybe you can research for yourself.

The top part of the circuit is unneccessary, only to blink LED.

So it can be built with much less components than shown.

If you don't have much experience then I guess aquiring the storage coil (or coils) could be a problem, as well the cooling.