How to control Peltier/Thermoelectric units

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by PJ51, May 10, 2009.

1. PJ51

Thread Starter New Member

May 7, 2009
    Hi I'm new to the forum and would appreciate any help you can give me with this idea i'm working on.

My idea is to run upto 6 peltier units off of 2 - 4 battery packs for an item of clothing that cools the body, the units have got to read the temperature of the skin and respond accordingly by either heating up or cooling down. I've got no experience with the technology however and i'm not sure what sort of circuit to use to control the units.

I know the units can be very power hungry but i'm hoping to get upto 1 -2 hours use out of the cells (i'm thinking of using lythium polymer cells) by introducing some kind of timing element so that the units are not powered constantly but switch on and off over a set time. The temperature that i'm hoping to maintain should only see a difference of + - 10°C.

I would appreciate any advice you could give, also on battery configurations and sensors.

Thanks for reading.

2. Bernard

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 7, 2008
    The unit that I had used 6A @12V, 1.5X1.5X 3/16 in, Getting heat in to and out is a problem. Might be best to use heat exchangers and fans.Puse width modulation PWM should work to control power, thermisters for sensing temperature.

3. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    PWM is good, you will also need something called an H-Bridge, it will feed current either way. I would google H-Bridge to find out more.

4. thingmaker3

Retired Moderator

May 16, 2005
    Have a look: http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/HBASE/thermo/coobod.html This gives a rough idea of how much energy needs to be moved, and the range of skin temperature to be measured. (More like +/-3°C instead of +/-10°C.)

Taking the average from several thermistors in proximity to the skin might work.