How to Control more than 80 7seg LED Displays through a 8051

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by blue_flare, Feb 6, 2008.

1. blue_flare

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 6, 2008
    Hello All,
    I am a beginner in microcontrollers. I am building a display panel, which has almost 80 or more 7seg display and an IR input circuitry. My choice of microcontroller is 8051 as I am not familiar with any other. I have decided to multiplex the display using two microcontrollers and a pair of 4x16 decoders.
    I need your invaluable inputs on the following:
    1. If I activate each digit for 1ms every 50ms, will I notice any flicker?
    2. Is there a better option to use a single 8051 and be able to control this diplay, yet keeping the cost low.

The block diagram of the circuit which i have in mind is something like this:

IR ---------- IR Remote
    |
    8 | 8
    |----/---------------------8051--SPI--8051-------------------/---|
    | | | |
    | | | |
    2x(4x16 (decoder)) 2x(4x16 (decoder))
    | | | |
    /(16+16) /(16+16)
    | | | |
    Driver (4 BCD+4 BCD)/ /(4 BCD+4 BCD) Driver
    | | | |
    /(Control) / (Data) / (Control)/
    | | | |
    (Upto 32 pair of 7seg digits) (Upto 32 pair of 7seg digits)

Thanks,
    Ather

2. n9352527

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 14, 2005
    There would be flicker with that 1:50 duty cycle. I would suggest using serial or parallel latches to buffer the data for the 7-segments. Load the data (could be multiplexed) and then latch them to the output to update the display.

3. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    Actually, with the displays only getting current for so little time, they would probably be too dim to see any flicker. The idea of using external latches to store the display data is a good way to go. With so many individual displays, a standard display latch/driver board would be economical.

4. mik3ca

Feb 11, 2007
    But before we go on, why would you need 80 digits?